Search for OER

Find OER

The links on this page include a list of directories and websites designed to help locate open educational content, videos, images, and music. Some OER collections also include readings, quizzes, assignments, and simulations.

MERLOT SmartSearch

The MERLOT system provides access to curated online learning and support materials and content creation tools, led by an international community of educators, learners and researchers.

Click here to search thousands of Free and Open Web Resources Filtered for Educators

Metafinder Search

Mason OER Metafinder (MOM)
Simultaneously search OER repositories
You need only enter text in at least one field.
Add or remove checkboxes by sources to modify search targets.

Intellectual Property Management

Creative Commons
With a network of staff, board, and affiliates around the world, Creative Commons provides free, easy-to-use copyright licenses to make a simple and standardized way to give the public permission to share and use your creative work–on conditions of your choice.

OER Commons

OER Commons
OER Commons offers a comprehensive infrastructure for curriculum experts and instructors at all levels to identify high-quality OER and collaborate around their adaptation, evaluation, and use to address the needs of teachers and learners.

Directory of Open Access Journals

Directory of Open Access Journals
DOAJ is a community-curated online directory that indexes and provides access to high quality, open access, peer-reviewed journals.

Amazon Inspire

Amazon Inspire
Amazon Inspire is a service that provides educators a place to discover, manage, rate, review, and share educational resources. While the resources available apply to K-12, some material may be helpful at an undergraduate level.

Open Textbook Library

Open Textbook Library
Open textbooks are textbooks that have been funded, published, and licensed to be freely used, adapted, and distributed. These books have been reviewed by faculty from a variety of colleges and universities to assess their quality. These books can be downloaded for no cost, or printed at low cost. All textbooks are either used at multiple higher education institutions; or affiliated with an institution, scholarly society, or professional organization.
The Open Textbook Library is supported by the Center for Open Education and the Open Textbook Network.

Additional Open Textbooks

Community College Open Textbook Collaborative
The CCOTC site has links to more than 545 open textbooks and the open textbook community.
WikiEducator
WikiEducator has links to free and open textbook sources.

Open Culture

Open Culture
Open Culture brings together high-quality cultural & educational media for the worldwide lifelong learning community. Users should check copyright and licensing information within individual sources.

Additional Learning Objects

Connexions
Run by Rice University, Connexions describes itself as "a place to view and share educational material made of small knowledge chunks called modules that can be organized as courses, books, reports, etc." All content is now available for download as the EPUB file used by most smart phones and e-readers worldwide.
OER Commons
ISKME created OER Commons to build a knowledge base around the use and reuse of open educational resources (OER). As a network for teaching and learning materials, the web site allows social bookmarking, tagging, rating, and reviewing of more than 24,000 items from 120 content providers.
MERLOT
Multimedia Educational Resources for Learning and Online Teaching (MERLOT) is a project of California State University and offers peer reviewed online teaching and learning materials.

OER by Subject

Saylor
These are OER guides by subject/class created for instructors building open courses. Excellent resource.
Portland Community College librarians
These are Google Docs made by Portland Community College librarians in response to requests for help from instructors.
Virginia Tech University Libraries
Discipline-specific pages are not intended to be exhaustive, but to showcase content that may be of interest to faculty considering adopting open educational resources for use in their classes.

OER Courseware

The NROC Project
NROC collaborates with secondary, postsecondary, and adult educators to deliver courses and tools that address the challenges students face today. Together, we are changing the way college and career readiness is approached and supported.
As a non-profit organization, NROC partners with educators to create open and low-cost courses and tools that are designed to recognize every student’s unique learning needs and preferences. These resources can be adapted and scaled to meet programmatic goals in a variety of instructional settings.
MIT OpenCourseWare
MIT OpenCourseWare is the web-based publication of the content of 2000 MIT courses.
Open Courseware Consortium
The Open Courseware Consortium is a collaborative effort of more than 250 universities around the world.
Open Learning Initiative
Carnegie Mellon University's Open Learning Initiative courses are more highly developed cognitively-informed courses featuring intuitive tools custom developed for each topic. Details for a new initiative targeted specifically to community colleges.
Hippocampus
A project of the Monterey Institute of Technology, Hippocampus provides high-quality multimedia content for high school and college students on general education topics.

Additional Digitized Library Collections Resources

Khan Academy
A library of more than 1,600 video tutorials covering most of the K-12 math curriculum and an increasing number of other subjects.
Public Library of Science
PLOS is run by a non-profit organization of scientists and physicians working to make the world's medical and scientific literature open and accessible.
Library of Congress Newspaper and Current Periodical Reading Room
Chronicling America is a project of the National Digital Newspaper Program, which is a partnership between the National Endowment for the Humanities (NEH) and the Library of Congress (LC). Their website provides access to information about historic newspapers and select digitized newspaper pages.

Hybrid Commercial/ OER Partnerships

Scitable
Nature Publishing Group, publishers of the highly regarded Nature magazine, decided in 2009 to make a sustained effort to overcome questions about the reliability of free materials found on the Internet in life and physical science disciplines by publishing its own OER, called Scitable.

Open Oregon Educational Resources

Mission

Open Oregon Educational Resources promotes textbook affordability for community college and university students, and facilitates widespread adoption of open, low-cost, high-quality materials.

http://faq.openoregon.org/search-open-content

Skills Common

Skills Common
Your FREE and OPEN digital library of Workforce Training Materials.
Preparing the Workforce for 21st Century Employment.

Search for OER in Google

How to Search in Google Advanced
This pdf. file explains how to use the advanced search feature in Google to locate OER.

How to Search YouTube for CC licensed Videos

How to Search YouTube for CC licensed Videos
YouTube is one of the most commonly used video search engines in the world. Did you know you can use YouTube to find Creative Commons (CC) licensed Videos? Using the YouTube search filters, you are able to search for material by keyword and refine your search to show only material available under a CC license.

OER Search Tips Video

Instructional Design for Educators

Instructional Design for Educators
This course examines topics of importance to educators participating in instructional design projects.
Topics include needs assessment, adult learning principles, learning objectives, instructional strategies, assessment, implementation and evaluation. Learners will develop a course using media and open educational resources while observing copyright and plagiarism guidelines.
more...less...
Lana Penny (lanapenny@gmail.com) Instructional Design for Educators Updated: January 2013
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 3.0 Unported License

Faculty Guide for OER

OER RESOURCES