Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

The Annotated Bibliography: Step by Step Guide: STEP THREE: Formatting the Annotated Bibliography

This library guide covers everything you need to know about writing an annotated bibliography

Formatting

As emphasized in the first step, it's important to know what style of writing your instructor requires. The most common types are: MLA; APA; and Chicago Style. Step two explains that annotations often summarize, evaluate, and determine relevance for a source. The combination annotation is the most common type because it addresses all three of these things. In the third step, samples for the three most common types of writing styles are available. Formatting is important to your overall assignment so make sure you're doing it correctly!

For any of the writing styles, format as you normally would, but follow specific instructions for formatting the annotated bibliography. The page is titled: Annotated Bibliography.

MLA Style 9th edition

In MLA Style, follow the current formatting instructions for MLA, which include double-spacing throughout with one-inch margins. Sources will be listed alphabetically with annotations directly beneath the citation. Indent so that the author's name is the only text flush left. 

Adogame, Afe, Roswith Gerloff, and Klaus Hock, editors. Christianity in Africa and the African Diaspora: The Appropriation of a Scattered Heritage. Continuum International, 2011.

           This book is crucial to the developing thesis as an important source for factual data surrounding the colonization of Africa. Several scholars collaborated to produce this text offering new resources for the analysis of African Christian movements. This research includes specific focus on the first and second part of the book, which discusses the historical development of the Berlin-Congo 1884 Conference and how it influenced political, social, economic, cultural and religious aspects to Africa. When comparing different coverage of the Conference and its inevitable impact to the development of Africa, this book presents the clearest approach to understanding how greed culminated in a scattered heritage.

APA Style 7th edition

Adogame, Afe, Roswith Gerloff, and Klaus Hock, editors. Christianity in Africa and the African Diaspora: The Appropriation of a Scattered Heritage. Continuum International, 2011.

This book is crucial to the developing thesis as an important source for factual data surrounding the colonization of Africa. Several scholars collaborated to produce this text offering new resources for the analysis of African Christian movements. This research includes specific focus on the first and second part of the book, which discusses the historical development of the Berlin-Congo 1884 Conference and how it influenced political, social, economic, cultural and religious aspects to Africa.

Chicago Manual Style

Davidson, Hilda Ellis. Roles of the Northern Goddess. London: Routledge, 1998.

Davidson's book provides a thorough examination of the major roles filled by the numerous pagan goddesses of Northern Europe in everyday life, including their roles in hunting, agriculture, domestic arts like weaving, the household, and death. The author discusses relevant archaeological evidence, patterns of symbol and ritual, and previous research. The book includes a number of black and white photographs of relevant artifacts.

This annotation includes only one paragraph, a summary of the book. It provides a concise description of the project and the book's project and its major features.