Skip to main content

Open Educational Resources(OER): Open Journals & Textbooks

UA Cossatot Faculty Resources

Open Textbooks

2012 Book Project 

American Institute of Mathematics approved open textbooks by the Institute.

Community College Consortium for Open Educational Resources Open Textbooks includes more than 500 open textbooks in a variety of subjects.

College Open Textbooks The College Open Textbooks Collaborative, a collection of twenty-nine educational non-profit and for-profit organizations, affiliated with more than 200 colleges, is focused on driving awareness and adoptions of open textbooks to more than 2000 community and other two-year colleges. This includes providing training for instructors adopting open resources, peer reviews of open textbooks, and mentoring online professional networks that support for authors opening their resources, and other services.

Curriki is a hub for free, open course materials. Find thousands of course materials in a variety of subjects and grade levels, including free courses and textbooks.

The Global Text Project publishes open content electronic textbooks that are freely available from this website.

InTech "InTechOpen is the publisher of the world's largest collection of open access books covering the fields of Science, Technology and Medicine. With a goal to provide free online access to research since 2004, InTechOpen has published 2,641 books and 44,419 scientific works by 92,408 international scientists."

FLOSS Manuals is more than a collection of manuals about free and open source software, it is also the community. The contributors include designers, readers, writers, illustrators, free software fans, editors, artists, software developers, activists, and many others. Anyone can contribute to a manual – to fix a spelling mistake, add a more detailed explanation, write a new chapter, or start a whole new manual on a topic.

FreeTechBooks is a resource which lists out computer science and programming books which are made freely & legally available on the Internet. Please also note that each  author and publisher has their own in the forms of free/open documentation licenses, public domain or other specific ones. You are allowed to view, download and with a very few exceptions, print the books for your own private use at no charge. In fact, you are encouraged to tell others about the books.

MIT OpenCourseWare: Online Textbooks index of online textbooks with open access versions.

OER Commons Materials range from pre-k to secondary. Along with other materials textbooks are included

Open Culture has a collection of 150 free textbooks from Art History to Physics and Business. Various copyrights - please check for open access.

Open Textbook Library This library is a tool to help instructors find affordable, quality textbook solutions. All textbooks in this library are complete and openly licensed.

OpenStax College OpenStax College offers students free textbooks that meet scope and sequence requirements for most courses. These are peer-reviewed texts written by professional content developers. You can find TCC's holdings o f the OpenStax texts listed on the dropdown menu on this page's tab or use the link  http://libguides.tcc.edu/faculty/OER/openstax

Open Access Textbooks Websites Open Access Textbooks: A FIPSE  grant project ...creating a model for open textbook implementation. This is their list of open textbooks sites.

Open Textbooks: Catalog are college texts offered online under a license that allows free digital access, low-cost print options and customization by instructors. 

Project Gutenberg is the place where you can download 33,000 free books! This is a great resource for Literature classes and books for young children.

ScienceDirect is a leading full-text scientific database offering journal articles and book chapters from more than 2,500 journals and almost 20,000 books. The link will take you the open access materials.

Smarthistory Smarthistory.org is a free, not-for-profit, multi-media web-book designed as a dynamic enhancement (or even substitute) for the traditional art history textbook.  Organized by artist, theme, or time period, it currently hosts over 300 essays and almost 600 unscripted video conversations, provided on a volunteer basis by scholars and professionals in art history and archaeology, and vetted by Smarthistory’s editorial board. New content is added regularly, and all content is freely available under the Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 license.

SpringerOpen Books The growing demand for open access publishing has led Springer to expand our open access program to fully open access books as a further addition to our already established SpringerOpen journal portfolio. Authors in all disciplines now have the opportunity to publish open access books, including complete monographs, edited volumes, proceedings and SpringerBriefs. SpringerOpen books are published under the Creative Commons Non-Commercial (CC BY-NC) license, so they can be reused and redistributed for non-commercial purposes as long as the original author is attributed.

Wikibooks is a Wikimedia community for creating a free library of educational books that anyone can edit.  Rather than be subject to expensive static books, Wikibooks readily encourages copying, modifying, reusing, and free distribution of its books. 

Definition

An open textbook is an openly-licensed textbook offered online by its author(s). The open license sets open textbooks apart from traditional textbooks by allowing users to read online, download, or print the book at no additional cost.

For a textbook to be considered open, it must be licensed in a way that grants a baseline set of rights to users that are less restrictive than its standard copyright.  A license or list of permissions must be clearly stated by the author.

Generally, the minimum baseline rights allow users at least the following:

  • to use the textbook without compensating the author 
  • to copy the textbook, with appropriate credit to the author  
  • to distribute the textbook non-commercially
  • to shift the textbook into another format (such as digital or print)

Many authors also grant rights such as:

  • to add, remove or alter content in the textbook, often on the condition that derivative works must  have the same license                            
  • to copy and distribute the textbook without giving credit to the author to use the textbook commercially

Source

http://www.openaccesstextbooks.org/model/appendixA.html

Journals

Journals

Directory of Open Access Journals The aim of the DOAJ is to increase the visibility and ease of use of open access scientific and scholarly journals, thereby promoting their increased usage and impact. The DOAJ aims to be comprehensive and cover all open access scientific and scholarly journals that use a quality control system to guarantee the content. In short, the DOAJ aims to be the one-stop shop for users of open access journals.

Elsevier   the world’s leading provider of science and health information, Elsevier serves more than 30 million scientists, students and health and information professionals worldwide which include: Open Access Journals, and Open Archives.  Published articles are peered reviewed; are immediately free to access and download from ScienceDirect; and permitted re-use defined by the author's choice of Creative Commons user licenses.

ScienceDirect   is a leading full-text scientific database offering journal articles and book chapters from more than 2,500 journals and almost 20,000 books.

OMICS Group International through its Open Access Initiative is committed to make genuine and reliable contributions to the scientific community. OMICS Group hosts over 300 leading-edge peer reviewed Open Access Journals and organizes over 100 International Conferences annually all over the world. Open Access (OA) is the practice of providing unrestricted access via the Internet to peer-reviewed scholarly journal articles. Ominics Open Access system follows Creative Commons Attribution License.

Oxford Univerisity Press Journals - Articles published under the Oxford Open model are made freely available online immediately upon publication, without subscription barriers to access. The three open access licences which Oxford Open employs are CC-BY, CC-BY-NC, and CC-BY-NC-ND.

SpringerOpen Journals Our SpringerOpen journal portfolio includes peer-reviewed, fully open access journals across all areas of science. It ranges from very specialized titles to SpringerPlus, our interdisciplinary open access journal that covers all disciplines.



"Stacks of Books" by R. Crap Mariner is licensed under CC BY 4.0