LibGuides: Open Educational Resources(OER): OpenStax Holdings

Math Books

Mathematics and Statistics

College Algebra by OpenStax College - Jay P. Abramson rational functions -- Exponential and logarithmic functions -- Systems of relations and inequalities -- Analytic geometry -- Sequences, probability, and counting theory. "Revision CA-1-001-AS."--Title page verso. "Jay Abramson, lead author, senior content expert; contributing authors, Valeree Falduto, Rachael Gross, David Lippman, Melonie Rasmussen, Rick Norwood, Nicholas Belliot, Jean-Marie Magnier, Harold Whipple, Christina Fernandez."--Page ii. "College Algebra provides a comprehensive and multi-layered exploration of algebraic principles. The text is suitable for a typical introductory Algebra course, and was developed to be used flexibly. The modular approach and the richness of content ensures that the book meets the needs of a variety of programs. College Algebra guides and supports students with differing levels of preparation and experience with mathematics. Ideas are presented as clearly as possible, and progress to more complex understandings with considerable reinforcement along the way. A wealth of examples -- usually several dozen per chapter -- offer detailed, conceptual explanations, in order to build in students a strong, cumulative foundation in the material before asking them to apply what they've learned."--Openstax College website. "The text is suitable for a typical introductory algebra course, and was developed to be used flexibly. While the breadth of topics may go beyond what an instructor would cover, the modular approach and the richness of content ensures that the book meets the needs of a variety of programs."--Page xii.
Call Number: QA154.3 .A3695 2015 - Portsmouth Campus -Print copy
ISBN: 9781938168383
Publication Date: 2015-02-13
Introductory Statistics by OpenStax College - Barbara Illowsky "Introductory Statistics is designed for the one-semester, introduction to statistics course and is geared toward students majoring in fields other than math or engineering. This text assumes students have been exposed to intermediate algebra, and it focuses on the applications of statistical knowledge rather than the theory behind it.
Call Number: QA276.12 .I45 2013 -Chesapeake Campus
Publication Date: 2013
PreAlgebra by OpenStax College - Lynn, Marecek; Maryanne Anthony-Smith Prealgebra is a textbook for a one-semester course that serves as a bridge between arithmetic and algebra. It can be used in courses named "Basic Mathematics," "Introductory Algebra," "Fundamentals of Algebra," and so on. The organization makes it easy to adapt the book to suit a variety of course syllabi. The philosophy of this book is to strengthen students' arithmetic skills and introduce the fundamental concepts and vocabulary of algebra in a nurturing, non-threatening environment while addressing the needs of students with diverse backgrounds and learning styles. Prealgebra addresses a variety of unique challenges by guiding math students as they learn study skills and time management, while helping them overcome math anxiety. All procedures and strategies as results of complete explanations and examples. Each topic builds upon previously developed material to demonstrate the cohesiveness and structure of mathematics. Deliberate attention is paid to ensure all students are fully prepared to progress toward higher mathematics. The result is a supportive, memorable learning experience that students can carry with them as a foundation for further learning and careers. Lynn Marecek, Santa Ana College; MaryAnne Anthony-Smith, Santa Ana College
Publication Date: 2013
Precalculus by OpenStax College - Jay Abramson; Valerre Falduto Precalculus is intended for college-level precalculus students. Since precalculus courses vary from one institution to the next, we have attempted to meet the needs of as broad an audience as possible, including all of the content that might be covered in any particular course. The result is a comprehensive book that covers more ground than an instructor could likely cover in a typical one- or two-semester course; but instructors should find, almost without fail, that the topics they wish to include in their syllabus are covered in the text. Many chapters of Openstax College Precalculus are suitable for other freshman and sophomore math courses such as College Algebra and Trigonometry; however, instructors of those courses might need to supplement or adjust the material. OpenStax will also have College Algebra and Algebra and Trigonometry titles tailored to the particular scope, sequence, and pedagogy of those courses. Jay Abramson, Arizona State University; Valeree Falduto, Palm Beach State College; Rachael Gross, Towson University; David Lippman, Pierce College; Melonie Rasmussen, Pierce College; Rick Norwood, East Tennessee State University; Nicholas Belloit, Florida State College, Jacksonville
Publication Date: 2014
Algebra and Trigonometry by OpenStax College - Jay Abramson; Valerre Falduto Algebra and Trigonometry provides a comprehensive and multi-layered exploration of algebraic principles. The text is suitable for a typical introductory Algebra & Trigonometry course, and was developed to be used flexibly. The modular approach and the richness of content ensures that the book meets the needs of a variety of programs. Algebra and Trigonometry guides and supports students with differing levels of preparation and experience with mathematics. Ideas are presented as clearly as possible, and progress to more complex understandings with considerable reinforcement along the way. A wealth of examples - usually several dozen per chapter - offer detailed, conceptual explanations, in order to build in students a strong, cumulative foundation in the material before asking them to apply what they've learned. Jay Abramson, Arizona State University; Valeree Falduto, Palm Beach State College; Rachael Gross, Towson University; David Lippman, Pierce College; Melonie Rasmussen, Pierce College; Rick Norwood, East Tennessee State University; Nicholas Belloit, Florida State College Jacksonville; Jean-Marie Magnier, Springfield Technical Community College; Harold Whipple, Formerly of Columbia College; Christina Fernandez
Publication Date: 2015

Economics

Economics

Principles of Economics by OpenStax College - Steven A. Greenlaw; Eric Dodge... Principles of Economics covers the scope and sequence for a two-semester principles of economics course. The text also includes many current examples, including; discussions on the great recession, the controversy among economists over the Affordable Care Act (Obamacare), the recent government shutdown, and the appointment of the United States' first female Federal Reserve chair, Janet Yellen. The pedagogical choices, chapter arrangements, and learning objective fulfillment were developed and vetted with feedback from educators dedicated to the project. The outcome is a balanced approach to micro and macro economics, to both Keynesian and classical views, and to the theory and application of economics concepts. Current events are treated in a politically-balanced way, as well. Steven A. Greenlaw, University of Mary Washington; Eric Dodge, Hanover College; Cynthia Gamez, University of Texas at El Paso; El Paso Community College; Andres Jauregui, Columbus State University; Diane Keenan, Cerritos College; Dan MacDonald, California State University San Bernardino; Amyaz Moledina, The College of Wooster; Craig Richardson, Winston-Salem State University; David Shapiro, Pennsylvania State University; Ralph Sonenshine, American University
Publication Date: 2014
Principles of Macroeconomics for AP® Courses by OpenStax College - Timothy Taylor; Steven A. Greenlaw; Eric Dodge.... Principles of Macroeconomics for AP® Courses covers the scope and sequence for a one-semester Advanced Placement® macroeconomics course. The book is on the example textbook list for the AP® course here. The text also includes many current examples, including the housing bubble and housing crisis, Zimbabwe's hyperinflation, global unemployment, and the appointment of the United States' first female Federal Reserve chair, Janet Yellen. In order to more closely align to the AP® curriculum, this textbook features a more prominent section on the Expenditure-Output model, organized within the section on Keynesian Economics. The pedagogical choices, chapter arrangements, and learning objective fulfillment were developed and vetted with feedback from educators dedicated to the project. The outcome is a balanced approach to economics and to the theory and application of economics concepts. Current events are treated in a politically-balanced way, as well. Principles of Macroeconomics PDF and web view versions have been updated to include current FRED (Federal Reserve Economic) data. Timothy Taylor, Macalester College; Steven A. Greenlaw, University of Mary Washington; Eric Dodge, Hanover College; Cynthia Gamez, University of Texas at El Paso; Andres Jauregui, Columbus State University; Diane Keenan, Cerritos College; Dan MacDonald, California State University San Bernardino; Amyaz Moledina, The College of Wooster; Craig Richardson, Winston-Salem State University; David Shapiro, Pennsylvania State University; Ralph Sonenshine, American University
Publication Date: 2015

Science

Sciences

Concepts of Biology by OpenStax College - Samantha Fowler; Rebecca Roush; James Wise Concepts of Biology is designed for the introductory biology course for nonmajors taught at most two- and four-year colleges. The scope, sequence, and level of the program are designed to match typical course syllabi in the market. Concepts of Biology includes interesting applications, features a rich art program, and conveys the major themes of biology. Samantha Fowler, Clayton State University; Rebecca Roush, Sandhills Community College; James Wise, Hampton University
Publication Date: 2013
Biology by OpenStax College - Yael Avissar; Jung Choi.... Biology is grounded in an evolutionary basis and includes exciting features that highlight careers in the biological sciences and everyday applications of the concepts at hand. To meet the needs of today's instructors and students, some topics have been condensed and combined; for example, phylogenetic trees are presented in the various ways they are currently being developed by scholars, so instructors can adapt their teaching to the approach that works best in their classroom. The book also includes an innovative art program that incorporates critical thinking and clicker questions to help students understand-and apply-key concepts. Yael Avissar, Rhode Island College, Cell Biology; Jung Choi, Georgia Institute of Technology, Genetics; Jean DeSaix, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, Evolution; Vladimir Jurukovski, Suffolk County Community College, Animal Physiology; Robert Wise, University of Wisconsin, Oshkosh, Plant Biology; Connie Rye, East Mississippi Community College, General Content Lead
Publication Date: 2013
College Physics by OpenStax College- Peter Urone; Roger Hinrichs;..... This introductory, algebra-based, two-semester college physics book is grounded with real-world examples, illustrations, and explanations to help students grasp key, fundamental physics concepts. College Physics can be can be downloaded now by clicking on the "Get this book" button below. This online, fully editable and customizable title includes learning objectives, concept questions, links to labs and simulations, and ample practice opportunities to solve traditional physics application problems. This book is available in paperback. Dr. Paul Peter Urone, California State University Sacramento; Dr. Roger Hinrichs, State University of New York, College at Oswego; Dr. Kim Dirks, University of Auckland, New Zealand; Dr. Manjula Sharma, University of Sydney, Australia
Publication Date: 2102
Chemistry by OpenStax College - Paul Flowers, Klaus Theopold.... Essential ideas -- Atoms, molecules, and ions -- Composition of substances and solutions -- Stoichiometry of chemical reactions -- Thermochemistry -- Electronic structure and periodic properties of elements -- Chemical bonding and molecular geometry -- Advanced theories of covalent bonding -- Gases -- Liquids and solids -- Solutions and colloids -- Kinetics -- Fundamental equilibrium concepts -- Acid-base equilibria -- Equilibria of other reaction classes -- Thermodynamics -- Electrochemistry -- Representative metals, metalloids, and nonmetals -- Transition metals and coordination chemistry -- Organic chemistry -- Nuclear chemistry. "Senior contributing author, William R. Robinson; contributors, Mark Blaser, Simon Bott, Donald Carpenti, Andrew Eklund, Emad El-Giar, Don Frantz, Paul Hooker, Jennifer Look, George Kaminski, Carol Martinez, Troy Milliken, Vicki Moravec, Jason Powell, Thomas Sorenson, Allison Soult."--Page 6. Includes index.
Call Number: QD31.3 .F56 2016 - Portsmouth Campus
Publication Date: 2015
Anatomy and Physiology by OpenStax College - J. Gordon Betts; Peter Desaix ..... Anatomy and Physiology is a dynamic textbook for the yearlong Human Anatomy and Physiology course taught at most two- and four-year colleges and universities to students majoring in nursing and allied health. A&P is 29 chapters of pedagogically effective learning content, organized by body system, and written at an audience-appropriate level. The lucid text, strategically constructed art, inspiring career features, and links to external learning tools address the critical teaching and learning challenges in the course. Color is used for pedagogical effect in A&P. Most art will consist of elegant black line, with the strongest line illustrating the most important structure(s) and shading used to show dimension and shape. Color (used only when needed) highlights and clarifies the primary anatomical or functional point of the illustration. Student focus is drawn to the most important learning point in each illustration, without distraction from excessive gradients, shadows, and loud highlights. The online book provides students with links to surgical videos, histology, interactive diagrams, and cadaver imagery at critical junctures. J. Gordon Betts, Tyler Junior College; Peter DeSaix, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill; Eddie Johnson, Central Oregon Community College; Jody E. Johnson, Arapahoe Community College; Oksana Korol, Aims Community College; Dean H. Kruse, Portland Community College; Brandon Poe, Springfield Technical Community College; James A. Wise, Hampton University; Mark Womble, Youngstown State University; Kelly A. Young, California State University, Long Beach
Publication Date: 2013

Psycholgy

Psychology

Psychology by OpenStax College - Rose M. Spielman; Williams Jenkins... Psychology is designed to meet the scope and sequence for the single-semester introduction to psychology course. For many students, this may be their only college-level psychology course. As such, this textbook provides an important opportunity for students to learn the core concepts of psychology and understand how those concepts apply to their lives. The authors strive to make psychology, as a discipline, interesting and accessible to students. A comprehensive coverage of core concepts is grounded in both classic studies and current and emerging research, including coverage of the DSM-5 in discussions of psychological disorders. The text incorporates discussions that reflect the diversity within the discipline, as well as the diversity of cultures and communities across the globe. Rose M. Spielman, PhD; Kathryn Dumper, Bainbridge State College; William Jenkins, Mercer University; Arlene Lacombe, Saint Joseph's University; Marilyn Lovett, Livingstone College; Marion Perlmutter, University of Michigan
Publication Date: 2014

U.S. History

U.S. History by OpenStax College - P. Scott Corbett;Volker Janssen... U.S. History covers the breadth of the chronological history of the United States and also provides the necessary depth to ensure the course is manageable for instructors and students alike. U.S. History is designed to meet the scope and sequence requirements of most courses. The authors introduce key forces and major developments that together form the American experience, with particular attention paid to considering issues of race, class, and gender. The text provides a balanced approach to U.S. history, considering the people, events, and ideas that have shaped the United States from both the top down (politics, economics, diplomacy) and bottom up (eyewitness accounts, lived experience). P. Scott Corbett, PhD - Ventura College; Volker Janssen, PhD - California State University-Fullerton; John M. Lund, PhD - Keene State College; Todd Pfannestiel, PhD - Clarion University; Paul Vickery, PhD - Oral Roberts University; Sylvie Waskiewicz, PhD - Lead Editor
Publication Date: 2014

Open Educational Resources(OER): OpenStax Holdings

Introduction

Math Books

Economics

Science

Psycholgy