Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

APA Style 7th edition: Books & Other Print Sources

This guide covers stylistics of writing, formatting, and citing in APA Style 7th edition

APA

Edited Book with an Author

Author, B. B. (Year of publication). Title of work: Capital letter also for subtitle (E. Editor, Ed.). Publisher. DOI (if available)

Samuels, A. (2002). Knights in glory. (A. C. Bonner, Ed.). Rebus. (Original work published 1832)

Article or Chapter in an Edited Book

Author, A. A., & Author, B. B. (Year of publication). Title of chapter. In E. E. Editor & F. F. Editor (Eds.), Title of work: Capital letter also for subtitle (pp. pages of chapter). Publisher. DOI (if available)

Jones, D. (2006). Critical essays. In A. S. Alexander & C. T. Ross (Eds.), A new world (pp. 23-35). A. N. Cowler.

Dictionary, Thesaurus, or Encyclopedia

Institution or organization name. (Year). Title of entry. In Title of reference work (edition, page numbers). Publisher name.

The Associated Press. (2020-2022). Using lists to stay organized and protect your privacy. In The Associated Press stylebook (55th ed., p. 381). The Associated Press.

Published Dissertation or Master’s Thesis

Lastname, A. B. (Year). Title of dissertation/thesis (Publication No.) [Doctoral dissertation/Master’s thesis, Name of Institution Awarding the Degree]. Database or Archive Name.

Jones, J. J. (1978). Mass manipulation among the crowd (Publication No. 32240321) [Master’s thesis, Virginia University}. ProQuest Dissertations Publishing.

*NOTE- If the dissertation or thesis isn’t published in a database, note the URL where it is located.

Basic Format for Books

Author, B. A. (Year of publication). Title of work: Capital letter also for subtitle. Publisher Name. DOI (if available)

Butler, R. P. (2009). Smart copyright compliance for schools: A How-to-do-it manual. Neal-Schuman Publishers, Inc.

Translation

Author, A. A. (Year of publication). Title of work: Capital letter also for subtitle (T. Translator, Trans.). Publisher. (Original work published YEAR) DOI (if available)

Remarque, E. M. (1929). All quiet on the western front (Wheen, A. W., Trans.). The Ballantine Publishing Group. (Original work published 1928)

Multivolume

Author, A. A., & Author, B. B. (Year of publication). Title of chapter. In E. E. Editor & F. F. Editor (Eds.), Title of work: Capital letter also for subtitle (pp. pages of chapter). Publisher. DOI (if available)

Jones, D. (2006). Critical essays. In A. S. Alexander & C. T. Ross (Eds.), A new world (pp. 23-35). A. N. Cowler.

Entry in a Dictionary, Thesaurus, or Encyclopedia with an Individual Author

Lastname, A. B. (Year). Title of entry. In A. B. Lastname (ed.), Title of reference work (edition, page numbers). Publisher.

Miller, T. R. (2003). Morality in an immoral world. In S. R. Wichenstein (ed.), Encyclopedia of moral behavior (pp. 300-312). Jezebel Publishing.

Unpublished Dissertation or Master’s Thesis

Lastname, A. B. (Year). Title of dissertation/thesis [Unpublished doctoral dissertation/master’s thesis]. Name of Institution Awarding the Degree. 

Smith, C. T. (2014). Increasing crime and immorality. [Unpublished doctoral dissertation]. Berkley University.

Edited Book, No Author

Editor, A. A. (ed.). (Year of publication). Title of work: Capital letter also for subtitle. Publisher. DOI (if available)

Irele, F. A. (Ed.). (2009). Things fall apart: Authoritative text contexts and criticism. W. W. Norton & Company.

Edition Other than the First

Author, A. A. (Year of publication). Title of work: Capital letter also for subtitle (# edition). Publisher. DOI (if available)

Smith, R. (2021). Leading a diverse team in the workplace: A goal to reach (3rd ed.). Publishing Masters.

The SAT Word Game

Dissertation Abstract

Follow a journal article example, which is formatted similarly.

Lastname, A. B. (Year). Title of dissertation. Dissertation Abstracts International, Vol., Page.

Sorrel, E. F. (2016). Recognizing the lack of academic integrity in academic institutions. Dissertation Abstracts National, 32, 05(F).

Conferences

Follow the format for an edited collection.

Lastname, A. B., & Lastname, A. B. (Eds.). (Year). Title of Proceedings. Publisher. URL (if applicable)

Collier, K., Jackson, B., & Arnold, J. (Eds.) (2013). Notes of the 25th annual OE international conference on the use of open resources. Kimball Digital Library. https://ab.aet.org/citation.aeb?id=2431158&picked=prox